London TfL Overcharge

Our first stop in our summer trip was London. As I mentioned before we both paid for our tube fares using my Chase Sapphire Reserver via Apple Pay.

Well we found out that we were charged £6 instead of the £1.90 that it was supposed to cost. I did a bit of research and found out that we were being charged such amount because TfL (Transport for London) could not determine where we had tapped-in or tapped-out of the tube. The website mentioned that an automatic refund could happen so we could wait a bit.

However, it had been 6 days since the date of our arrival to Europe via London and there was no refund. This time I decided to create an account and add my credit card to get a better idea of what was happening.

The account took less than 5 minutes to create and verify, plus a couple of more minutes to add my credit card. Once done the system informed me that I might be eligible for a refund due to an “Incomplete Journey”.

For some weird reason, the TfL system indicated that we never tapped-in at Heathrow but did tap-out. I followed the steps for the refund, which were quite simple and mostly required for me to indicate were our journey started.

Because we are sharing my credit card via apple pay, I had to submit two refund requests, one for each of us. The first refund request was approved almost immediately but the second one was not, and I am thinking it might require human verification since there are two identical journeys (one for each one of us).

If you have any issues with TfL I would recommend to just create an account, rather than waiting like I did, as it might speed up the process.

Leave a comment